top of page

Whose Crime Novel Gonna Be The Best This Year?

The shortlist for crime writing’s most wanted accolade, the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, has been announced and will open to the public vote on July 1.

Celebrating its twelfth year, the Awards feature six titles whittled down from a longlist of 18 crime novels published by British and Irish authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1 May 2015 to 18 April 2016.

Shortlisted down to six, the list includes a famous J.K. Rowling aka Robert Galbraith as well as debut authors:

Time Of Death by Mark Billingham

A stalwart of the genre, Time of Death is the astonishing thirteenth Tom Thorne novel – a story of kidnapping, the tabloid press, and a frightening case of mistaken identity. The novel is currently in adaptation with BBC Drama North.Mark Billingham has already won this Award in 2005 and 2009.

Career Of Evil by Robert Galbraith

It's the third novel in the Cormoran Strike series. It was lauded by the critics and became a number one bestseller in both hardback and paperback. With the Cormoran Strike novels in the process of being adapted for a major new television series for BBC One, J.K. Rowling’s crime pseudonym has well and truly made his mark in the genre.

Tell No Tales by Eva Dolan

Tell No Tales is the second book from the author BBC Radio 4 marked as ‘a rising star of crime fiction’. Shortlisted for the CWA Dagger for unpublished authors when she was just a teenager, her debut novel Long Way Home, was the start of a major new crime series starring two detectives from the Peterborough Hate Crimes Unit. Tell No Tales focuses on murdered migrants and racial tension.

Disclaimer by Renee Knight

Renee Knight’s debut, Disclaimer, has been pitched as the new Gone Girl. The former TV documentary maker spent a decade writing film scripts, with her first novel turned down by every publisher, but persisted to write Disclaimer, a Sunday Times No. 1 bestseller, whose overseas rights have been sold in 35 countries and to Fox Searchlight.

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

It was one of the fastest selling titles of 2015 and became a Sunday Times bestseller and a Richard & Judy book club winner. Clare spent twelve years in the police force, including time on CID, and as a public order commander. She left the police in 2011 and now writes full time. I Let You Go sold over half a million copies and rights have been sold to 29 countries.

Rain Dogs by Adrian McKinty

It is book five in the critically-acclaimed Sean Duffy Thriller series set in 1980s Belfast by Northern Irish writer, Adrian McKinty. McKinty was shortlisted for the Steel Dagger in 2004 and has since been nominated for multiple awards in the UK, USA, France and Australia. He won the Ned Kelly Award in 2014 for Sean Duffy book three and book four was nominated for an Edgar in 2016. He currently lives in Melbourne, Australia.

The award ceremony will be hosted by broadcaster Mark Lawson on 21 July on the opening night of the 14th Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate.

As mentioned above, the Awards will be decided not only by the panel of Judges but also by public vote. So click here (the site will be open July 1 through July 15) and leave your vote for your favourite book and author!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page