top of page

Six Crime Novels Shortlisted for Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel Of The Year Award

Mickey Spillane, the famous American crime writer, was absolutely right by saying that "people don’t read books to get to the middle. They read to get to the end." That's why many of us are so fond of page-turning crime novels where you are eager to get to the end as soon as possible. But it's not so easy to find a jewel in a gigantic heap of detective scribbling, which reaches the shelves of the bookstores. Thanks to Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award, we get clear guidelines how to navigate in this fictional crime world. Yesterday the shortlist of candidates to the award was announced and we are happy to share it with you.

The shortlisted six novels were picked up from the longlist of 18 entries:

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony hosted by broadcaster Mark Lawson on 18 July on the opening night of the 17th Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival at the Old Swan Hotel, Harrogate. They’ll receive a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakston Old Peculier.

You can also take part in decision-making, which novel is worth the award this year, as a public vote will open on 1st July and last till 14th July at

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page