top of page

Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel Of The Year Announced

Steve Cavanagh, ©Harrogate Informer

Crime novel lovers should start looking for Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh. The reason is simple: this novel has just won the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and from now on is considered the best crime novel of the year.

The Award to Steve Cavanagh comprised a £3,000 prize and an engraved oak beer cask trophy by Simon Theakston who in turn has acknowledged: “It is always a privilege to present the winning author with their richly-deserved award. As ever, the standard of both the short and long lists has been astonishingly high, and it is never an easy task to choose a winner.”

Thirteen is the fifth novel in the Eddie Flynn series where the real killer is not on trial but among the jury. It has been selected from the shortlist of six crime novels, including Belinda Bauer's Snap, Val McDermid's Broken Ground, Mick Herron’s London Rules, Liam McIllvanney’s The Quaker and Khurrum Rahman’s East of Hounslow .

Last year Steve Cavanagh was awarded the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger for his previous book, The Liar.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page