top of page

2020 Pulitzer Prize For Fiction Goes To The Nickel Boys By Colson Whitehead

It seems that a well-known American writer Colson Whitehead has developed a true winning formula for the highest literary awards. Only three years ago, in 2017, his novel The Underground Railroad won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Award and here he strikes again: 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction goes to his newest novel The Nickel Boys.

Every year the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction is awarded for distinguished fiction published in book form during the year by an American author, preferably dealing with American life. This time it is a novel about two boys sentenced to a reform school in Florida during Jim Crow era. The story is based on a real-life school that functioned for one hundred and eleven years and broke the lives of thousands of children.

The Jury selected The Nickel Boys from the trio of finalists, the other two being The Topeka School by Ben Lerner and The Dutch House by Ann Patchett. Last year the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction went to The Overstory by Richard Powers.

Explore the whole 104th class of Pulitzer winners here.

Pulitzer Prizes have been honoring excellence in journalism and the arts in the United States since 1917.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page