top of page

Enrich Your Reading List With The British Book Award Winners

With American National Book Awards and British Booker Prize winner announcements just around the corner, we'd like to drop a spotlight on this year's British Book Awards, a.k.a. the Nibbies, which celebrate the intimate connection between the books, their makers and their audience.

Having started in 1990, the awards have been organised by The Bookseller since 2017. The awards are divided into a number of categories and the Overall Winner. In 2023 this award as well as the title of the Non-fiction Lifestyle Book of the Year has been handed to Menopausing by Davina McCall and Dr Naomi Potter who broke the shameful silence over the menopause by discussing every aspect with candour, rigour and common sense.

Babel by R.F. Kuang was announced the winner of the Fiction Book of the Year. This stunningly wrought novel is a compulsive dystopia about the power of language and the evils of authoritarianism, represented by the looming titular tower of translation.

Tresspasses by Louise Kennedy won the category of the Debut Book of the Year. The novel is a blistering account of encroaching violence and fractured loyalties in 1970's Belfast. It follows schoolteacher Cushla as she attempts to stay true to herself as her community crumbles around her.

The title of the Crime & Thriller Book of the Year was handed to The Twyford Code by Janice Hallett. With immense ambition and even greater skill, the author weaves a completely unique and addictive mystery, revolving around a secret code found in a famous children’s author’s work by an English teacher who subsequently disappears, and her former pupil who years later decides to discover what happened to her.

Click here to see all winners.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page