top of page

The Shortlist of 2023 Women's Prize For Fiction Announced

If you're fond of the books written by women authors, we've got a brilliant hint for you, as the 2023 Women's Prize for Fiction announced six novels on its shortlist.

Half of this year’s list - described as ‘ambitious, eclectic and hard-hitting’ - is made up of first-time novelists appearing alongside novels by previous Women’s Prize-winning and shortlisted authors.

Chair of judges, broadcaster and writer Louise Minchin, said: "This is an exquisite set of ambitious, diverse, thoughtful, hard-hitting and emotionally engaging novels. A glittering showcase of the power of women’s writing. My fellow judges and I feel it has been a huge privilege to read these novels, and we are delighted to be part of their journey, bringing them to the attention of more readers from across the world."

Here is the shortlist:

Although the 2023 shortlist offers globe-spanning settings - from former Yugoslavia, Jamaica and the Indian Ocean, to Italy, Virginia and Ireland - the writers themselves are predominantly British: four of the list are British alongside one American and one Irish author.

The winner of this year’s Women’s Prize for Fiction will be awarded on Wednesday 14th June 2023.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page